The Two Paths For Human Activity

Krishna's Mercy

[Krishna's lotus feet]“According to Vedic instructions, there are two paths for human activities. One is called pravritti-marga, and the other is called nivritti-marga. The basic principle for either of these paths is religious life. In animal life there is only pravritti-marga. Pravritti-marga means sense enjoyment, and nivritti-marga means spiritual advancement. In the life of animals and demons, there is no conception of nivritti-marga, nor is there any actual conception of pravritti-marga. Pravritti-marga maintains that even though one has the propensity for sense gratification, he can gratify his senses according to the directions of the Vedic injunctions.” (Shrila Prabhupada, Shrimad Bhagavatam, 4.25.39 Purport)

Download this episode (right click and save)

1. Pravritti-marga

This is the way for the animals, as they don’t know any better. Neither do they have the potential to think rationally, to question why they behave the way they do. For instance, the lion cannot make the following inquiry:


View original post 673 more words