Smorgasbord Health – Summer Eating – Chilled Soups and Salads

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

smorgasbord health

Even though we are having a grand soft day here in Ireland, it is summer, no really it is!

In the winter months it is very easy to stock up on nutrients with all the wonderful root vegetables available and also combining ingredients to make hearty soups and stews. However, as we get into the summer months, our appetites tend to change; I know there is a major shift in my taste buds once we get into late May.  I want to move away from the stodgy comfort foods and eat  a fresher and crisper menu.

There is no need to give up nutritionally packed soups however, because there are some stunning chilled varieties that you can make and store in the fridge or even freezer.

With the longer evenings there is no way I want to be slaving over a hot stove for hours and I usually cook two…

View original post 1,038 more words

